If you have marked a module as inactive, it will display for learners if it is a required module. It will NOT display for learners if it is marked as optional.
Inactive required modules will show on the course outline and cannot be launched. Learners will be unable to complete the course until the module is made active. This may also affect Training Tracks. If the course is in a training track and cannot be completed, the training track cannot be completed.